BPA Membership renewal 2011-2

19 April 2011

BPA Membership renewal 2011-2

Visit the members page to download the renewal form for full members to renew BPA membership for the year from 1 April 2011 to 31 March 2012 inclusive.   

Will you receive a Golden Ticket?

To get the BPA's 50th anniversary celebrations off to a fantastic start, the BPA Council is making available 50 free memberships.

In your April Mag you could find one of 50 Golden Tickets. If you do, you are a winner, and you will receive free membership for the year!

NB The Golden Tickets will be randomly selected by software and inserted by the mailing house.

Young BPA Members fly high with Bursary Awards

18 April 2011

Young BPA Members fly high with Bursary Awards

The Royal Aero Club Trust (RAeCT) has awarded a total of £3,400 in bursaries to help develop the skydiving ambitions of young BPA members.

It has made awards to:

  • Jakob Aungiers (19, APC)
  • Holly Heathfield (18, Skydive Hibaldstow)
  • Christopher Horrobin (20, RAF Weston-on-the-Green)
  • Alexandra Lane (21, Skydive Weston)
  • Martin Roberson (20, Skydive Weston)
  • Chris Courtney (21, Skydive Weston)
  • Liz Telford (21, Langar - pictured) who was awarded the Peter Cruddas Foundation Scholarship worth up to £1,000.

Congratulations to them all. Application Forms for the next round of bursaries, in 2012, open to application by young BPA members aged 16-21, will be published by thRAeCT website in September 2011.

Al & Pixie on TV

15 February 2011

Al & Pixie on TV

British National Champions & World Silver Medallists in Freestyle Skydiving, Al & Pixie Hodgson - Team Airkix Freestyle - featured in 'Inside Out' on BBC 1 East Midlands on Monday 14 February.  Sorry, the programme is no longer available on BBC iPlayer.  See also: Skydiver wants more recognition for his sport.

AGM video: Awards & Presentations

14 February 2011

AGM video: Awards & Presentations

Video of the BPA AGM Awards & Presentations Ceremony at the Coventry Hilton on Saturday 22 January 2011.

Winner of the BPA FilmFest 2011 Airkix trophy

11 February 2011

Congratulations to Anthea Harrison and Gerard Casale on their winning entry, 'The Holy Grail'. in BPA FilmFest 2011 - as voted by BPA members on AGM Day.

BPA AGM: Review of 2010

4 February 2011

BPA AGM: Review of 2010

See the Chairman's Review of 2010 recorded at the BPA AGM at the Coventry Hilton on Saturday 22 January 2011.  Also available as a written version (pdf, 502 KB).

The BPA Annual Report & Accounts, and other documents relating to the running of BPA Ltd, will be available electronically to full (voting) members in future.  However, members will be able to opt to continue to receive them in hard copy.  Details will be provided before the start of the new arrangements.

Essential safety information for skydivers

3 February 2011

Essential safety information for skydivers

Knowing how to avoid canopy collisions and what to do in the event of canopy collision / entanglement is essential for safe skydiving. Renowned canopy pilot Brian Vacher gave a headline seminar on BPA AGM Day 2011 on this key topic. Please watch the video and stay safe.

Here are more videos from AGM Day - due to network issues, we're sorry that some of the videos are a little broken up (the Equipment Inspection one in particular) and the sound isn't great.

Martin Soulsby is new BPA Chairman

23 January 2011

Martin Soulsby is new BPA Chairman

Martin Soulsby (pictured) was elected Chairman of BPA Council at the inaugural meeting of 2011 held immediately after the AGM on Saturday 22 January.

Craig Poxon was elected Vice Chairman of Council, and also Development Chair.

Steve Saunders was elected as Competitions Chair and Adrian Bond as Communications Chair.

The new Council for 2011 elected John Smyth MVO, Immediate-past Chairman of Council, as a Vice President of the BPA.

The membership passed a special resolution at the AGM to update the BPA Memo & Arts to allow electronic communication with members of formal documents of BPA Ltd (notices of AGM, accounts, etc).

Click here to see Mike Carpenter's compilation video 'Review of the Skydiving Year 2010' shown at the AGM.

BPA Filmfest 2011

7 January 2011

The judges have announced the five finalists in the BPA FilmFest 2011 sponsored by Airkix.  The rest is up to you - at the final on the evening of AGM Day. There's also a separate award for the most humorous entry. The finalists are, in no particular order:  Follow your heart by Michael McNulty; Jump and Le Picnic by Rob Franklin; MilneCam2010 by Ally Milne; and The Holy Grail by Gerard Casale.  Come to AGM Day and enjoy!

Skydiver of the Year 2010 - Alan Thompson

10 December 2010

Skydiver of the Year 2010 - Alan Thompson

Council has awarded the Taz Causer Skydiver of the Year trophy to Alan Thompson.

Alan was born deaf and always wanted to be a parachutist.  People told him it was a stupid idea, but he never gave up.  In 1998, he seized the opportunity to make a tandem descent.  That was it!  He never looked back.  In 2010, Alan was proud to represent the UK as freefall videographer with FS 4-way women's Team Bodyflight, part of the British National Delegation to the World Parachuting Championships held in Menzelinsk, Russia.  Alan and the rest of the team brought home a World Silver Medal.  Alan's dream has come true.  His award will be presented at the AGM.

124 25 26 27

Updated 17 May 2012

British Parachute Association would like to be able to use cookies to store small amounts of information on your computer to make your experience of this site better. None of the information is personally identifiable. We have already set a cookie that is essential for the use of the site.
Please read our privacy policy for more information

Yes No